Skip to main content
Shopping Cart
HomeCore Arts Standards in Dance NEW

To add a link to the left side, click in the white space below the existing links.Use the link builder in the toolbar to add a link. The page will automatically style the links. To edit colors, edit the html, and change #4c4c4c and #a12422 to the colors you want. Be careful removing existing links. Don't backspace too far, it'd be better if you edited the html.

Learn about the new standards!
  • View a Webinar: Get an introduction to the Standards via a webinar series featuring and Introduction and segments dissecting the Artistic Processes of Creating, Performing, Responding, and Connecting. 
  • View Supplemental Resources The National Core Arts Standards in Dance (NCAS) Supplemental Resources include lessons, units, Model Cornerstone Assessments (MCAs), and curriculum maps as well as guidance documents to help you understand and implement the standards.
  • Take an Online Course: Deepen your knowledge with 12-week course OPDI-112 Implementing the New Dance Standards being offered this Summer 2020.  The course begins on May 18, 2020. 

National Core Arts Standards in Dance: An Overview

The National Core Arts Standards (NCAS) in Dance are designed to enable students to achieve dance literacy.
  • To download the Dance Standards and supporting documentsearly childhoodclick here
  • To view and engage with the interactive version of the Standards, click here.
  • To order the Standards Poster, click here.
  • To read the Report of State Adoption of the NCAS Standards, click here.

To be literate in the arts, students need specific knowledge and and 
skills in a particular arts discipline to a degree that allows for fluency and deep understanding. In dance, this means discovering the expressive elements of dance; knowing the terminology that is used to comprehend dance; having a clear sense of embodying dance; and being able to reflect, critique, and connect personal experience to dance.
Four artistic processes organize the standards across the arts disciplines: Creating, Performing, Responding, and Connecting. Each artistic process includes a set of overarching anchor standards. The anchor standards are consistent among the arts disciplines represented in the National Core Arts Standards and demonstrate the breadth of the work. They are held constant for student learning over time. 

Each anchor standard in dance is supported by a process component, an enduring understanding, and an essential question. These additional features will benefit educational leaders and teachers as they consider curricular models and structure lessons aligned to the dance standards.  
high school
Performance standards describe more specifically what students should know and be able to do in dance and are expressed as measurable outcomes across the grades pre-kindergarten to eighth grade and into high school at three levels of proficiency. The performance standards are the substantive portion of the work and represent the depth of study in dance.

Of significance is that the four artistic processes are addressed linearly in written standards, but are envisioned to occur simultaneously in the actual practice of dance. The dancer imagines, envisions, or improvises movements (creating), executes the movements (performing), reflects on them (responding), and connects the experience to all other contexts of meaning or knowledge (connecting). As a result, one lesson can address many standards at the same time. In a single class, students can learn by solving movement problems, showing their ideas through movement, thinking critically about them, and relating them to other ideas, experiences, contexts, and meanings. 
The National Core Arts Standards in Dance are rooted in a creative approach to teaching and learning. They describe expectations for learning in dance regardless of culture, style or genre and impart the breadth and depth of the dance experience through the art-making processes. The goal of the standards is to inspire dance educators and their students to explore the many facets of dance and prepare them for a lifetime of engagement with the art form.

For more information about the National Core Arts Standards in Dance, please refer to the Dance Standards Resource page and the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards Conceptual Framework for Arts Learning.


         middle school


Photo Credits from top: (1) Courtesy of Rima Faber; (2) and (3) Photos by Scott Swanson, courtesy of Anne Arundel County Public Schools.